Quick Pickled Onions

Quick Pickled Onions
Print Recipe
These tangy crunchy onions become pickles while you prepare a meal! They are an amazing condiment for burgers, sausages, tacos, fajitas, ham, pork tenderloin or perogies. They would make a good substitute for sauerkraut in a reuben.
Quick Pickled Onions
Print Recipe
These tangy crunchy onions become pickles while you prepare a meal! They are an amazing condiment for burgers, sausages, tacos, fajitas, ham, pork tenderloin or perogies. They would make a good substitute for sauerkraut in a reuben.
Ingredients
  • 1 red onion very thinly sliced - use a mandoline if you have it.
  • 1/2 cup Frescolio Gochujang White Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp honey sub with maple syrup for a vegan option
  • 1 1/2 tsp sea salt
Servings:
Units:
Ingredients
  • 1 red onion very thinly sliced - use a mandoline if you have it.
  • 1/2 cup Frescolio Gochujang White Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp honey sub with maple syrup for a vegan option
  • 1 1/2 tsp sea salt
Servings:
Units:
Instructions
  1. Press the sliced onions into a mason jar and place the jar in the sink to catch any splashes of hot vinegar.
  2. In a small saucepan, combine the vinegar, water, maple syrup and salt. Bring the mixture to a gentle simmer.
  3. Pour the hot vinegar into the jar of onions, pressing the onions down with a spoon to ensure they are covered with vinegar. Allow to cool to room temperature, about 30 minutes.
  4. The onions are ready to eat at this point, or keep refrigerated for up to 3 weeks.
Recipe Notes

This recipe uses our Gochujang White Balsamic Vinegar. You could use any of the following balsamics for a different taste:

Please note: since all of our balsamics contain a small percentage of wine vinegar, we cannot guarantee that they are all being sourced from a vegan wine filtration process. The same goes for our wine vinegars (our Apple Cider Vinegar is the only vinegar we carry that does not contain wine vinegar, making it certifiably vegan). As such, our balsamics and wine vinegars may not be suitable for vegans. All of our oils, excluding the Bacon Infused EVOO, are suitable for vegans.